Have you or someone you know that is under 21 been charged with a DUI or underage drinking crime? If you’re facing an underage drinking charge in Texas, you need the help of a highly experienced Denton criminal defense attorney to help you understand the numerous laws and penalties associated with the offense.
Free Phone or Office Consultation
While anyone found with a 0.08 blood alcohol content or higher is subjected to arrest for DWI, individuals under 21, are subject to a zero-tolerance law for alcohol. There is no acceptable range for minors; a BAC higher than 0.00 allows the officer to arrest the individual and charge them with DUI.
What Penalties Do Minors In Possession or Minors in Consumption Of Alcohol Face?
Texas law punishes underage drinkers severely, which is why it’s crucial to hire an experienced Denton DUI attorney to fight the charges. A person under 21 years of age that purchases, lies about their age to buy alcohol, or is found to be intoxicated in a public place will be arrested and charged with Minor in Possession (MIP), also known as underage drinking. A minor can also be charged for simply consuming alcohol which is classified as a Minor in Consumption (MIC).
A Class C misdemeanor for underage drinking can lead to the following possible consequences:
- Fines up to $500
- Court-sanctioned enrollment of alcohol awareness education class
- Maximum of 40 hours of community service
- Loss of driving privileges up to 180 days (six months)
A person over the age of 17 found guilty of underage drinking could pay up to $2,000 in fines, spend 180 days in jail and have their license automatically suspended or revoked.
Using A Fake ID To Purchase Alcohol
Texas law “Use It and Lose It” means it is a crime to use a fake ID to purchase alcohol. If you are found guilty, you could face jail time and lose your actual driver’s license. Minors who possess or use alcohol face the possibility of losing their license.
Hire An Experienced DUI Attorney For Your Underage Drinking Charge
With strict underage drinking laws in Texas, it’s important to learn as much as you can about the court process. With the help of an experienced DUI attorney, you can navigate the court system with a bit of ease. If your child is facing a DUI or other underage drinking charge, make sure to call Attorney Randy Brooks in Denton to schedule a free consultation to consider the next best move.
Call (940) 380-1186 to set up a consultation and see how we can help you.